Vampires, Sci-Fi, fairy tales and everything in between

Morning!
Here is my second enstallment of Movies of 2012:
Breaking Dawn part two: 
The memory of this movie is still fresh, and I can honestly say that it is the best of the franchise. It proved a lot of things, but mostly that actors can develop from mediocre to good, screenplay can be well executed, and a movie can keep to the book and still be a blockbuster. It was the best end I could have imagined for a saga I believed would bore. It stayed true to its original cast, and chose characters shockingly accurate for new roles. This movie does not deserve an Academy Award, but it does deserve recognition for evolving into a worthy tale. 
Rating: 8.5/10 
The Hunger Games 
It shames me to admit that until I saw the trailer of the Hunger Games, I had never heard of the series or of Susan Collins. I love reading, so the fact that this type of magic went by unnoticed, will leave me appalled for some time. The post-apocalyptic film followed the book to perfection. Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth play Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Mellark and Gayle Hawthorne to perfection. I am waiting anxiously for the rest of the series. 
Rating: 8.5/10 
Snow White and the Huntsman: 
When I saw this film was being released, I was excited and sceptical at the same time. Seeing Kristen Stewart in another role as Bella was like imagining Nina Dobrev playing someone other than Elena Gilbert… frightening and confusing. Kristen impressed me with her portrayal of Snow (the different facial expressions mostly) and convinced me of a future for her after Twilight. Chris Hemsworth played the Huntsman, surprising me with the excellence with which he played a more romantic part. He is the poplar standard for playing the ruggedly handsome. Charlize Theron (our home pride) gave the best performance in the film as the wicked queen. I am so proud that she is South-African. 
Rating: 7/10. 
Barnabas Collins: Dark Shadows 
For an actor of Johnny Depp’s calibre, I was rather disappointed with the quality of this movie. He still brought his magic touch to the screen, but not to an extent which I found mesmerising. Barnabas Collins seemed to share too many qualities with his Willy Wonka in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. 
Rating: 5.5/10 
Men in Black 3: 
I saw this movie in the cinema THREE times (long story). It barely deserves to be seen in the cinema. I can’t honestly say anything about this movie; because I saw it so many times I am quite sick of it. But Will Smith, Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin deserve proper accolades when acting is mentioned, since they are wonderful actors. 
Rating: a biased 6.5/10
Any other suggestions?
N
One thought on “Vampires, Sci-Fi, fairy tales and everything in between

  1. I agree on the Dark Shadows front. I was most disappointed (not so much with Depp as I was with Burton). I had been waiting ages for it, but no show hey. Meh. That is all I thought of it. It was too rushed and cluttered, and it started with such promise (I mean opening with Nights in White Satin?! WOW). I can only console myself with the knowledge that it was not an original Burton creation, but a movie based on a series that had over 1200 episodes!I am sad that we are not getting Frankenweenie here, so I can only comment on that next year!The Hunger Games was superb!BOND dammit! How do you see MIB3 THREE TIMES and not see Skyfall ONCE?!

Leave a Reply

