Five Things Friday (What planning a bachelorettes or wedding taught me)

I am on leave today, and I really am so happy I just have a day off. It feels like I’m getting married, while it is actually my sister tying the knot. I am SO happy for her and her fiancé – they are the ultimate cuteness right now. On keeping tradition with my themed Friday post, here are 5 things planning a wedding/bachelorette taught me.

wedding

One: Someone will want to do everything.

Typical overachiever stuff happens around the wedding. If you don’t have a full time wedding planner, either the bride, her mother, her mother-in-law, or her sister will try to simultaneously organize everything at once. TIP: Calm down, everyone. It will be great, and it will work out fine.

Two: You quickly realize who your real friends are, and who is just there to see you fail.

The amount of people I am annoyed with regarding the wedding amounts daily, but I am starting to realise that they are all insignificant, and that they aren’t true friends. The backstabbing involved can be an entire post, so I won’t elaborate this much, but I am consoling myself that I don’t have to have these people at my wedding someday.

true_friends

Three: Have a back-up plan for your back-up plan.

If four things can go wrong, four things will go wrong. Really – the transport I organized for the bachelorettes fell flat about three times before I finally got it to work (for now)

Four: Someone will make it about them.

They will be rude, they will be selfish, they will be demanding. At the end of the day, you should just focus on what you can do to make it easier on the bride and groom, and be the bigger person, even when it is killing you to keep a dignified silence.

Five: If you just have fun with people that love you, you will have the best time ever.

Really self-explanatory.

Those who matter don’t mind, and those who mind don’t matter.

Have a lovely weekend!

One thought on “Five Things Friday (What planning a bachelorettes or wedding taught me)

  1. 🙂 I am so glad you learned something out of this, and as difficult as it has been getting a nice look at your “friends”, at least you got that look!

Leave a Reply

