Movie Review: If I Stay (2014)

If_I_Stay_poster

Plot Synopsis: Life changes in an instant for young Mia Hall after a car accident puts her in a coma. During an out-of-body experience, she must decide whether to wake up and live a life far different than she had imagined. The choice is hers if she can go on (via IMDb)

adam and mia

Rating: 7.5/10

Releasing this within the same year as The Fault in Our Stars was really quite risky, because the movie runs on the same emotional scale as FiOS. No one has cancer, but a lot of people die and you form an immediate emotional bond with the shy and awkward Mia.

This is a book adaption from the book with the same name by Gayle Forman. I haven’t read it yet, so I can’t really discuss how well the adaption went, but I really liked it as a movie. It feels slightly too long at the end, but didn’t really bother me as I was really wrapped up in the story by then. I went in completely blind with no idea what to expect and I’ve really come to love watching movies that way instead of knowing the basics – where is the fun in knowing what is going to happen?

I’ve always considered Chloë Grace Moretz as a bit bratty, not really with sufficient evidence, but she has finally grown on me. Her acting was the most convincing and she carried the story when it was needed. If she continues with movies like these, I can see myself supporting her more and more.

 adam

Adam (Jamie Blackley) is every girl’s dream to have as her first boyfriend. Cute, talented, sweet and devoted, he ticked all the right boxes. I supported him when he fought with Mia because I could see where he was coming from, because most of his fears were based on legitimately losing her in the end. Mia and Adam’s love story had enough cheese in to make it very YA and high school romance, but I was in the mood for it so I really liked their story. Their attraction is unconventional, but they are both talented in their vastly different musical fields and they shared that passion which made them match.

kim

Finally, a female friendship that wasn’t riddled with bitchiness and insincere gestures! The friendship between Kim (Liana Liberarto) and Mia was sweet and sincere. Can this happen more often???

Parents are often misrepresented in cinema: they are either uber cool, cruel, incredibly indifferent or stupid by Hollywood’s standards. I did enjoy Mia’s parents, but they came off as too cool and relaxed to be very realistic. I found what her father did to further her training in the Cello beautiful and a sign of true love though. I liked her grandfather as well, his admittance of how he made mistakes praising his own son’s talents, his determination to support Mia’s as a result, and his heartfelt acceptance that it was Mia’s choice to make whether she would continue to fight for her life.

Overall, the movie was cheesy and predictable but was once again about choosing to live when life completely sucked, so I enjoyed it.

Recommendation: I can see how this won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but it is a surprisingly feel good movie while still having some tearjerker moments.

quote

Favorite quote from the movie: “But the you who you are tonight is the same you I’ll be inlove with tomorrow”

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: If I Stay (2014)

  1. Chemistry Kidney,

    Great work, of course!

    I might look into this sometime, my colleague (Mr T) also recommended it.

    Best Bkushi

  2. Pingback: Five Things Friday: Five stars who completely changed my opinion about them in the last few months. | Life of this city girl

  3. Pingback: 2014 Movies: Part Three | Life of this city girl

  4. Pingback: Valentine’s Week: Best of Me (2015) | Life of this city girl

Leave a Reply

