2014 Movies: Part Three

Welcome back to the third and final installment of the rundown of the movies released in 2014 that I got to peek at. Some of it has been good and some has been really, really bad. Let me know what you think of these, my opinions on them, and any other additional ones you might have seen!

22 Jump Street

Sequels aren’t often on the same level as its predecessor, but 22 Jump Street managed that for me, and more. Who knew that Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum could be so hilarious together, or even that Tatum had such a hilarious streak to him? These movies are silly and fun and exactly what you need after a really bad day.

Tammy

Hmm, even though I enjoyed this movie, I have eternal beef with Hollywood because the second they have a big lady in a film she is naturally stupid and dirty. You can do better, guys.

Jack Ryan, Shadow Recruit

Oh, Chris Pine. It is good to watch you no matter what. It took me a while to finish and get to this movie, but it wasn’t bad. The first half hour is slow enough to be a cause for serious points deduction, but further on it picks up pace and becomes entertaining.

If I Stay

If I Stay is the vastly inferior tear jerker of 2014, because TFIOS was so major and amazing. It was good though, and I will probably watch it again.

Mockingjay Part 1

I liked it. Can’t wait for the second part!

The Hobbit: Battle of Five Armies

I think this may have been my life’s biggest disappointment, ever. It insincere, rushed and exploits a fandom that didn’t deserve this.

Sex Tape

Yeah, another Cameron Diaz film where she does the minimum work and still wants a pat on the back and to hear that she is good at what she does. I am unsure whether she will ever be capable of doing more than things like this though, so well done at least in that sense.

X-Men: Days of Future Past

This movie is definitely on my favorites of the year. Everything was just so right about it.

What have you seen this past year and loved? Tell me!

14 thoughts on “2014 Movies: Part Three

  1. Kindest Kidney,

    You know how I felt about the ones that I saw on here.

    Days of Future Past was flipping amazing, and as much as I enjoyed 22 Jump Street, it wasn’t equal to 21 Jump Street, and Mockingjay was a bit of a let down for me, though I am sure Part II is going to be phenomenal.

    Some of these movies on your list are films I never plan to look at because… nope. Not my thing.

    Great work, as always!

  2. Kidney!!

    Love your post! My favorite three movies of the year are: Coherence, Dead Snow 2 and Housebound. With a nod to Starry Eyes, Bad Turn Worse and Cold Prey 2.

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Pappy!

  3. Enjoyed 22 Jump Street, The Fault In Our Stars, could not come around to finishing Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, The Hobbit was not bad for me.

Leave a Reply

