Movie Review: Donnie Darko (2001)

Donnie_Darko_poster

A troubled teenager is plagued by visions of a large bunny rabbit that manipulates him to commit a series of crimes, after narrowly escaping a bizarre accident. (IMDb)

Rating: 7.5/10

I watched Donnie Darko just over a week ago, and I am still not sure what even happened in it. It is very obscure stuff about time travel or parallel universes or something, and man did it leave me confused. I am still scratching my head because it really is one of those “erm…” movies. I do know that Frank scared the living shit out of me and I am very grateful that he hasn’t visited me in my dreams yet.

rabbit

I’ve ragged Zoë quite often about her respect for Gyllenhaal, because I’ve always found him mediocre at best. He is quite amazing in this, and even if I can’t really claim to be in love with him or anything, he has talent. He seems genuinely crazy and just not based in reality. I really liked how he was deranged the one moment, then a sulky teenager rebelling against the system and a love-struck guy somewhere in-between too. It was well balanced and enhanced the character.

donnie-darko-3

It also has a favorite of mine, Patrick Swayze, in. He plays a smarmy life expert expertly, and I loved when Donnie gave him some sass because it was obvious the guy didn’t have any facts in his ramblings, just emotions. It also had a very young Drew Barrymore in as a teacher frustrated with archaic teaching practices. Teachers should be more like her, you go girl! As for the incredibly young Jena Malone, it took me a while to recognize her (actually, Google helped me #honesty) and I thought that she perfect as love-struck teenager girl.

The dance team his little sister was in was an eery thing to me. I can’t understand why little girls need to be tarted up like that, and that coach of theirs reminded me of how all the netball coaches used to be in my high school – nothing mattered but her team’s success. I hated his friends who were so mean to Cherita. I think anyone who tells a girl they hope she is molested should lose their penis by amputation from a cheetah, FYI.

Lastly, I enjoyed the whole early 2000’s late 90’s vibe I got from this movie. I am still incredibly confused by it, but good all the same.

Donnie Darko was quite good, although I probably won’t watch it again because Frank is too freaky for me!

11 thoughts on “Movie Review: Donnie Darko (2001)

  1. Chemistry Kidney,

    Hell yeah! I am glad that you enjoyed it this much and that you are warming up to Gyllenhaal. He is a very good actor, though not (sorry Melissa) a super hot guy (for me), though at times he has his moments, but not my cup of tea.

    “I think anyone who tells a girl they hope she is molested should lose their penis by amputation from a cheetah.” – OMG bestie LOL and you thought I was fucking insane with Carrie and the shark infested ocean? Hmmmmmm. But I love this, had a massive laugh now, so thank you.

    This movie will continue to bend and twist your mind, trust me, but it is GOOD.

    Best Bkushi

    #Frank
    #WhyDoYouWearThatStupidBunnySuit

    • Best Bkushi

      He is actually very good hey? Though I will probably never find him attractive, his movies are worth watching.

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
      I learnt from the best 😀

      #WhyDoYouWearThatStupidHumanSuit

      • Kidney,

        YES. YES HE IS. Watch Prisoners. Immediately. Yeah, he isn’t hot per se, but he has a gorgeous smile.

        What can I say? 😛

        #ThisMakesMeHappierThanYouWillEverKnow

        Bkushi

  2. I love the fact that it is one of those movies that makes you think. There aren’t enough of them out there I think. One to revisit once in a while to see if the theory you made up for it makes sense 🙂

  3. Kidney!!!

    This is a tough movie to tackle. I’ve probably seen it a dozen times and still don’t know what the hell is going on. Great post!!

    Pappy

Leave a Reply

