Movie Review: Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

Edgeoftomorrow2

IMDb Plot: A military officer is brought into an alien war against an extraterrestrial enemy who can reset the day and know the future. When this officer is enabled with the same power, he teams up with a Special Forces warrior to try and end the war.

 emily-blunt-edge-of-tomorrow-1

Rita: “Yes? What do you want?”

Rating: 8/10

I had a lot of fun with this. Zoë also mentioned it was great for such an ass kicking film, and I knew I had to try it out. It was pretty good and I thought Tom Cruise, a.k.a. The Man Who Doesn’t Age, was amazing in here.He’s always been a good actor, intense and solid, and action really suits him well. He takes getting his ass kicked really well, and I enjoyed how he started out as this very, very superficial guy with no guts or glory and turned into someone strong who knew he had to get his job done.

This is the type of movie other action movies can only hope to be. It has a good storyline, solid characters, scary moments, humour, intelligent and evolved monsters and decent pacing to deliver a solid, a bit of romance and some major ass going down. There are a lot of things that are repeated in the movie, but it seems they knew just where to stop doing it so as to not annoy their audience.  I have to say I found it hilarious in an odd, demented way that Rita would just pop Cage so emotionlessly every time, sure that he would return.

EOT suit

I loved the war suits of the army. They looked fierce and the like the only hope humans had against these monsters. (I would like one to deal with the taxis in Johannesburg for my birthday).

I liked the enemy. Even though Pacific Rim had the same concept of an alien race inhabiting earth, it didn’t have 1) Tom Cruise 2) the development of characters or 3) a concept revolving around these monsters that made sense.

edge-of-tomorrow02

I’ve left Rita for last because she deserves so much attention. The more I watched her, the more I thought: HALLELUJA! A SOLID FEMALE CHARACTER! She didn’t need saving, she knew how to save herself and she was such a commanding presence. She wasn’t objectified once, she was respected and everyone was awed by her superior skills as a soldier. I sincerely hope there will be more like her in the future – we need girls to see that this is what you can be, darling.

Recommendation: This movie is well worth the watch.

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

  1. Kidney,

    Hell yeah, I am so glad you enjoyed this one so much! I really thought this was going to be a crap one, but I was immensely impressed with it. Fun, well directed and it looks great, PLUS a strong female lead? Yes, I can see why it just worked by the end of it all. And Cruise was such a great sport about being knocked on his ass repetitively.

    Bkushi

  2. Pingback: Movies 2014: Top Ten | Life of this city girl

  3. Pingback: Top Fifteen Favorite stars in young Hollywood | Life of this city girl

Leave a Reply

