Blindspot 2015: Casablanca (1942)

Casablanca,_title

“Here’s to you, kid”

IMDb Plot: Set in unoccupied Africa during the early days of World War II: An American expatriate meets a former lover, with unforeseen complications.

Rating: 8.5/10

As part of my Blindspot choices this year I put down that I thought Casablanca was a movie I finally needed to watch. With its nearly mythical fame and fan base, Casablanca had either the possibility of being overrated or worthy of the continuously being chosen as one of the greatest films of all time.

Casablanca might not classify as one of my favorite movies of all time but I enjoyed it very much. Some old movies are excellent, and this is one of them. The movie is classy and the characters never cheapen themselves or exploit over-frequented tactics to draw audiences. As far as I’m concerned this might be the usual method for older movies and I think it it’s a shame that we went so off track in the later years.  There is a strong romantic element and some political war drama thrown in – oh, how the Nazi’s were well hated and used as the villain frequently back then. Neither element is overwhelming and doesn’t take precedence over the other at any stage.

Now that I’ve finally seen Humphrey Boggart in film I can rest easily. He is quite suave and I loved how he walked around with the cigarette in his mouth the entire time. He has no problem with being abrupt and has no qualms about saying what he thinks of people. He has the most character development in Casablanca and it is done in a style that I enjoyed – he realizes that his need to do good and not sit back while the Nazis run amok is stronger than his desire to live comfortably.

I also enjoyed the quick way the actors speak, the clarity of the shots when a movie is in black and white, and the fast pace of events. The movie is also a perfect length – I think that most movies aren’t strong enough to be longer than two hours, and a few rarely are, so when I saw that this one was approximately 1:45 I was quite happy. It turned out to be perfect – the end wasn’t drawn out and I didn’t want to fight with the director (who is long gone, I’m sure).

I am glad I chose to watch this film for the Blindspot series. I will definitely watch it sometime again and think that it is a worthy way to spend some time.

5 thoughts on “Blindspot 2015: Casablanca (1942)

  1. Kidney,

    YESH!!!!!! I am so glad to see that you liked this one. It is worthy of being so well-loved by so many, I thought it was just awesome when I watched it, and definitely engaging. Certainly a movie I will be going back to a few times 🙂

    Wasn’t Bogart just super cool?!

    Great review 🙂

    Looks like a good start to your Blind Spot series. You have some excellent movies coming up for you!

    #Godfather
    #ThePrestige
    #PulpFiction

    Among others, of course!

    Bkushi

  2. Pingback: Blindspot 2015: Invictus (2009) | Life of this city girl

  3. Pingback: Blindspot 2015: The Prestige (2006) | Life of this city girl

  4. Pingback: Blindspot 2015: Final Feedback | Life of this city girl

Leave a Reply

