Movie Review: Fight Club (1999)

fight club poster

Tyler Durden: “Man, I see in fight club the strongest and smartest men who’ve ever lived. I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need. We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War’s a spiritual war… our Great Depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.”

Plot: An insomniac office worker looking for a way to change his life crosses paths with a devil-may-care soap maker and they form an underground fight club that evolves into something much, much more…

Rating: 9/10

It’s usually somewhat obvious right from the start if a movie will rock your socks or not. Sure, some movies deteriorates/improves halfway through, but it’s obvious whether I will like a movie or not about 90% of the time by just seeing the first ten minutes. Fight Club is exactly like that. I’ve seen it once before but I was young and wasn’t really paying attention at the time.

The movie starts off strongly, it is unique and it has the warped sense of humor I enjoy very much. The directing of the movie is gritty but darkly humoristic and clearly intended to make the viewer expect some form of a plot twist later on. The plot twist itself – I won’t mention too much for those that still plan to watch this – is brilliant and unexpected. Did you figure the twist out before it was revealed? Please let me know, because then you are a genius. It is so brilliant because when you DO find out little things start making sense.

The cast is spectacular. I don’t know which person impressed me more – Brad Pitt, Edward Norton or Helena Bonham Carter. I’ve always loved HBC – she is so quirky and interesting and every role she chooses suits her perfectly. I can’t see anyone working better than she did as Marla Singer. She was crazy and out of control, yet she ended up being more stable than Tyler Durden at the end of it all.

It’s quite easy to imagine that Brad Pitt is so successful because he is so wildly attractive, but that is simply not true. He is a great actor and he shows it here as Tyler Durden – he is cocky, powerful and a true anarchist. I loved his flamboyant outfits and outrageous nature.

Then there is Edward Norton… he starts out balanced, although tired, and his rapid descent into meeting rock bottom is entertaining to watch. He goes from a typical career driven man to something sinister and infinitely more interesting.

The best thing about this movie is that it is nothing what you would imagine when you see the title. The movie is about rebellion and mental illness and lack of critical elements needed for successful mind functioning and it is

Recommendation: HIGHLY

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: Fight Club (1999)

  1. I love this film and think you’ve review is very accurate! I’m not one of those who guessed the brilliant punch of this film. Only after watching it again I was able to figure it out. If I didn’t after watching it twice I would think there’s something seriously wrong with my perception….
    Great post 🙂

  2. Kidney,

    FUCK YES.

    You know I love this movie to pieces. It is just the best, and those performances are outrageous! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed it so much. We can be besties forever hehehe.

    Bkushi

  3. I loved this movie, and, no, I definitely didn’t guess the plot twist. It’s one of those that just leaves you thinking at the end. And, then, of course, you have to go back and watch it again.

Leave a Reply

