Movie Review: Kick-Ass 2 (2013)

kick-ass-2

Plot: The costumed high-school hero Kick-Ass joins with a group of normal citizens who have been inspired to fight crime in costume. Meanwhile, the Red Mist plots an act of revenge that will affect everyone Kick-Ass knows. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1650554/

Rating: 8/10

Is it possible that I enjoyed this one more than I did the first one? I have no idea, but I really enjoyed this one very much. It keeps the hilarity and ridiculousness of the first movie. Chloë Grace Moretz is much older and although the time gap in their ages shorten significantly and improbably between the movies, it is as entertaining. I wondered if and how they would implement some romantic entanglement between Purple Mist and Kick Ass, and the little amount is okay because any more would have felt paedophilic.

kick ass 2 motherfucker

The superheroes in here are just as cringeworthy as in the first one. Like, I want to shrink and hide my face in embarrassment. Night Bitch was really a unique one, and let’s not even start on Motherfucker’s name or costume. Or hair. Or lisp. Or anything.

Kick ass science

Aaron Taylor, wow. For Science, that is one remarkable body. I have real issues that he is married to a woman twice his age. It is not fair to younger women (i.e. ME) . I love him as Kick-Ass and he will always be that despite being Quicksilver in Age of Ultron. Nope, he will always stay the very sexy geeky Kick-Ass to me.

Dave (AARON TAYLOR-JOHNSON) and Mindy (CHLO? GRACE MORETZ) try to blend in as their alter-egos in the follow-up to 2010?s irreverent global hit: ?Kick-Ass 2?.

I used to not really like Chloe Grace Moretz – my film knowledge of her was limited to Dark Shadows, a movie that I found the greatest waste of my time. But I’ve seen Carrie and If I Stay recently, and that upped her significantly in my books. Now I finally like her. She is so badass and cocky and able in these movies. I love how she dealt with being deadly and being a teenager as well as those pesky hormones when Kick-Ass pulled off his shirt (no straight woman alive blames you) and how she continued being true to herself. I love the relationship she has with )))). He is a sweet man and it is obvious that he knows how unstable her father raised her and wants to give a normal life.

I think Nicholas Cage in the first one was very funny and that might have made it more amazing than this one. Jim Carrey provides some laughs in this sequel, but there were a lot of scenes where the other characters just felt like a waste of time because they didn’t have a lot of substance. I know many people felt that this sequel didn’t live up to expectation, but I watched this with my bestie and her fiancé, and we had such an amazing time that I think I will just love it forever! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Movie Review: Kick-Ass 2 (2013)

  1. Great review, Natalie. I think this did a great job of raising the stakes for the characters and was just as funny and ridiculous as the first. The scene with Hit-Girl and the other girls talking about boys almost had me in tears from laughing so hard.

  2. Sweetest Kidney,

    GREAT!! I really liked this one too but I think Cage made the first one more memorial for me. You need to get you one of those Sick Sticks for those people that make you angry all the time : )

    Love,

    Sugar Pappy Giuseppe!

  3. I want to watch these movies. I feel like they may give me a good fit of giggles. Especially if there is a character going around calling himself Motherfucker. Confident. I like it.

    Nice review 🙂

    • Oh Tom, do it for GLORY! I put it off for the longest time because of the raving from people, and my concept of what I thought it was. They were nothing like I imagined, and they were absolutely hilarious!

      The Motherfucker xD Just go. Now.

  4. Awesome work my bestie! I am glad to see you had such a good time with these! It is unexpected, and then you watch them and cannot help but LOVE them! Ah, much fun, much fun! Great work!

    Come on, Christopher Mintz-Plasse is FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!! I love that guy!

Leave a Reply

