Book Review: Hidden Riches (Nora Roberts)

Hidden riches

Plot: Dora Conroy has a passion for antiques—and any other rarities she can acquire for her quaint Philadelphia shop. A seasoned dealer, she knows all the tricks of the trade. But she is unprepared for the deadly consequences when she purchases a few curiosities at an auction—and unknowingly brings home a priceless cache that makes her the target of an international criminal. Entwined in a reckless chase, Dora turns to her new neighbor, Jed Skimmerhorn, a cop who’s turned in his badge—and whose desire for lovely Dora puts him back in the line of fire. Fighting their attraction while falling in love, they find that hidden riches can have a most ordinary façade. And that possession can be a lethal obsession…

Rating: 8/10

I saw this book in retail recently – for R300. Now, I don’t mind spending that much on a book when I read it and want my own personal copy because it was an enjoyable read. Every single new release from Roberts in the past two years have disappointed me so I was not overly keen for forking out cash for a wildcard read. I walked away sadly, shaking my head at the price of hard copies these days, hoping that the price would come down in a few months.

Then I found this 2015 release book for R100 at my favorite bookshop and I had a wild happy dance in my head. What a sweet find!

Ironically this is the best release form Roberts in the last few years and would totally justify R300. I thought the book extremely well written and that Roberts had deliberately chosen a new path of writing. Her character constantly identifies as a feminist and the hero was not as McDreamy as all the others- he seemed battered and mostly like an ass but with some good qualities too (i.e. most men on this earth).

It annoyed me a bit that the villain was identified very early on (somewhere around page 14) but it worked fine because his madness ran concurrently with the story and kept escalating through the book. DiCarlo was more terrifying than Finley – he was such a predator and how he hid in Dora’s room was scary. Finley was the current favorite prototype for a villain – extremely rich and well-presented and secretly mad.

I liked Dora – she is very right-brain whereas I am really left-brain, but I thought her well written and interesting. Throughout the entire book she continues being her own woman, even though some of her actions are still very retarded and dangerous. Jed was obviously fleshed out to be a more realistic hero and he seemed as real as it was going to get in one of these books.

The drama and mystery escalated quite well and the ending was a rough one – I really enjoyed it. The book was written fluently and was not too thick and didn’t contain scenes that weren’t really necessary.

Hidden Treasures is truly a treasure in my Nora collection (har-har). I might even say now it is one of my favorite reads by the author… YAY!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Hidden Riches (Nora Roberts)

Leave a Reply

