Series Review: Supernatural Season 1 (2005)

51vOlchrn4L._SX940_

Rating: 8.5/10

Supernatural really is part of the staple diet for people who enjoy a good show. It provides an interesting story line, well developed plot lines and a great cast. This is my second time running through the series, and I really aren’t afraid at all this time around haha. There are still a few episodes where I am like – eugh, cannibal-hillbilly episode I’m looking at you, but I was endlessly entertained. I’ve retained quite a bit from the first time around, and the episodes are so interesting to see again. Sure, the CGI might be terrible and the cheese might be strong in a few places, but hey, this was a low-budget production in its’ first season and it was 2005 after all.

SAm

Source

Season one is SO good. Even Sam Winchester is tolerable, and if you want to know how much I adored him in seasons 4 and 5, just ask my favourite confidante. I’m team Dean all the way, not only because he is the most perfectly faced man I have ever seen, his character is well layered, extremely fun and ridiculous, and who the character is – you can’t help but love the guy who just wants his family back together.

Meg1x22

I think my biggest irritation in the season was Meg, the unbelievably annoying demon who just annoyed me endlessly. It probably had something to do with the actress as well – Nicci Aycox worked on my nerves from the get go. ugh.

SUPERNATURAL
Supernatural “Asylum” (Episode #109) Image #SN109-0185 Pictured: Norman Armour as Ghost of Dr. Sanford Ellicott Credit: © The WB/Sergei Bachlakov

Favorite episode? Perhaps the one with the Asylum. It was well written and played well into popular culture themes.

1-16_shadow

I really enjoy the main cast, notably Jensen Ackles as Dean Winchester. To think that guy started out as Eric Brody in Days of Our Lives – just so much fun there. DW is a great character and as mentioned earlier, full of layers. I actually thought Sam was okay in here, not as annoying as he becomes in season four. I really find it amusing that they would cast Jeffrey Dean Morgan as their father – I think he is a great John Winchester and super fine, but come on, the ages just don’t match up.

I cannot recommend this show enough – it is so much fun.

Supernatural 1x12 Reaper

3 thoughts on “Series Review: Supernatural Season 1 (2005)

  1. It still makes me so happy knowing how much you enjoy this show 🙂 It’s the BEST! There is just so much to love. Especially Dean Winchester ❤

Leave a Reply

