Movie Review: Superbad (2007)

Super bad film poster

Plot: Two co-dependent high school seniors are forced to deal with separation anxiety after their plan to stage a booze-soaked party goes awry.

Rating: 5/10

Superbad was, well, SUPER BAD. It is quite likely that I am simply now too old in my 26 years to connect to a movie based entirely on teenage hormones. Jonah Hill’s character is a prick anyway you look at it –being fat does not allow you to be a complete douchebag. Michael Cera’s character is presented as the noble teen – we all know it is a myth, noble teenagers don’t exist. Emma Stone’s character is at least something to connect to, she’s as cool as ever. The best thing about this film is certainly Christopher Mintz-Plasse as McLovin. The kid is hilarious and steals every scene he is in. Well, that is it. The movie is vulgar and over the top, the kids are gross and icky, and I really would have preferred a film exclusively about McLovin. Now THERE is a movie idea.

SB

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Superbad (2007)

  1. Short and sweet. I must say, rewatching it again was a disappointment. It was way better when I was a teen, and maybe that whole extended director’s cut did it no favours. However, McLovin? Hell. Yeah. That dude is simply the best 😀 😀 😀

  2. This was one of my favourite comedies when it came out. Most likely because I too was just about to graduate from high school and could relate to some of the pressures at that age. But I admit rewatching it recently it didn’t have the same effect on me as it once did. I too am similarly aged at 25, so I guess age does matter for this movie

Leave a Reply

