Movie Review: Trainwreck (2015)

TW3

Plot: Having thought that monogamy was never possible, a commitment-phobic career woman may have to face her fears when she meets a good guy.

So let’s start this off by me saying that Trainwreck is not what the hype suggests. I’m pretty sure it went straight to DVD in SA, but I saw a bunch of people liking it and thought it was worth the try. It really isn’t a bad film, but it is funny almost by accident. For the life of me I cannot understand the hype around Amy Schumer. For a comedian she could be worse but as an actress she is downright terrible. I don’t get why people are saying that this movie is “So Real”. The movie is really about a terrible woman who needs to grow up. Movie Amy is mean spirited and cold to everyone. The movie is inappropriate, racist, homophobic and not really funny about it.

I do think that Bill Hader is the best thing about Trainwreck. Can we please see him in more movies? I would really love that. His character seems so genuine and just a normal and successful guy, worthy of love but terrible at choosing partners.

TW2

The movie has all these characters that are either terrible stereotypes or underdeveloped – Tilda Swinton is underutilized, that best friend girl of Amy is just there to be annoying and how did LeBron James find himself in a movie? I really have no idea.

Trainwreck isn’t all that bad though. There are some scenes where I genuinely did laugh, even if it was in a moment of weakness for some terrible humor. As mentioned, I really enjoyed Bill Hader and even thought that John Cena had some gems in here – poor guy and terrible stereotype, but sweet regardless. The romantic tone of the movie is sweet but unfortunately often marred by unnecessary sexual jokes and scenes.

Definitely not worth the hype, a bit too long, very underutilized characters and not really the social commentary or testimony to Amy Schumer’s greatness that I’ve heard. You could do worse, but you can definitely do better as well.

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: Trainwreck (2015)

  1. Great review kindest! This does NOT look like my cup of tea, but I thought I would check it out. Bumping it right down/off the list again!

  2. Sweetest Kidney,

    I thought this movie sucked balls but I did like Hader. I have no idea why Shumer is so popular…… P.S. Hader is from Oklahoma like me : )

    Love,

    S.P. Giuseppe

Leave a Reply

