Movie Review: Terminator Genisys (2015)

Genesys1

Plot:When John Connor, leader of the human resistance, sends Sgt. Kyle Reese back to 1984 to protect Sarah Connor and safeguard the future, an unexpected turn of events creates a fractured timeline.

Rating: 6.5/10

Terminator Genisys serves as a tribute to Arnold Schwarzenegger just like The Expendables served as a tribute to Sylvester Stallone… unfortunately, as with The Expendables, it is more a Hunger Games tribute than anything else. Genisys made me think the following things:

Genesys3

  • For all his faults, Jai Courteney has the most incredibly sexy voice
  • And body. Anyhow.
  • The scenes with a young Arnie is disconcerting. No amount of CGI can take away the afflictions time has done to him, and you know what? I was way more comfortable seeing Arnie as his older version later on.
  • Speaking of GCI, it is everywhere. There are so many action sequences in the film that it is confusing and exhausting.
  • Naked time travel. Really? Although, I could naked time travel with Jai Courteney. *innocent whistling*
  • Emilia Clarke – loved her as Sarah Connor. It is the time of the feminist and Sarah does not need anyone’s saving. She’s badass to the point of being abrupt and saves Reece’s ass more than once.
  • The story is really confusing – am I right in thinking it basically eliminates the entire previous Terminator work. Was it really okay to turn John Connor like that? It felt like utmost betrayal.
  • I’m convinced Sony is Skynet. My phone is so globally connected and thinks for me most of the time. If I disappear, Sony took me out. Send help.

Genesys2

I didn’t hate Terminator Genisys. It made me want to rewatch all the old Terminator films – I think I saw one a few years ago but the majority is still back in my youth. Genisys isn’t strong enough to justify a complete reboot of the franchise – even though the CGI is fancy but does not cover up that the actors didn’t have good material to work with. It is overly long, contains one too many action sequences and never really gains pace. I think a few things could have been better explained and that there are a number of questions I would have liked seen answered – the time travel concept is really interesting.It isn’t bad and it isn’t offensive, but it doesn’t have the wow factor that the old ones do, and the sad fact of Hollywood will always be that none of these reboots will really do what the old ones did.

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: Terminator Genisys (2015)

  1. I loved the first two, not so much the third which was where I left it. Like your bullet point system. Do you prefer Emilia Clarke as a blonde or brunette?

    • Hehe thanks Alex – I usually employ bullet points when I can’t be bothered to write a complete structured review.

      I actually prefer her as a brunette – it is obvious that is her natural colouring and it suits her. But she looks really pretty with the blonde. What do you prefer?

  2. Nice review! I didn’t HATE this, although I should have as the very first film is an all-time favorite of mine. This was entertaining but forgettable. : )

Leave a Reply

