Book Haul September: #CharityShopDisaster

img-20160903-wa0002

Saturday was the day. I just did a 5km Parkrun and was feeling particularly accomplished. It was decided that we would check out the charity shop in Mellville, Johannesburg – an area that is quickly becoming a favorite spot of mine, it is so fresh and clean and upcoming. Anyway, in I wandered and found ridiculously low priced books – like insanely low priced.

What I bought:

World Without End – Ken Follett

I read Pillars of the Earth one December. It was an incredible, enormous book that I enjoyed so much. Such violence, romance and drama. I’m going to need some time to do justice to its’ equally gigantic sequel, but I am quite excited to give it a go.

Tess Gerritsen – Under the Knife

Sooo I picked up a few of these for Zoë because Gerritsen is one of her favorite authors, but I accidentally took this one twice. I’ll definitely give it a go because mahbestie really enjoys her.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who played with Fire – Stieg Larson

I’ve tried to do these a number of times but always stopped. It was electronic attempts, so I would love to get through this series, seeing as it is considered some of the greatest novels of our era.

The Book Thief – Mark Zusak

I picked this one because I haven’t heard a bad word about the novel, and the premise is definitely interesting.

I am Number Four – Pittacus Lore

I’ve heard quite a few times that this is a great book, so I hope I enjoy it!

Club Dead and Definitely Dead – Charlaine Harris

Because who doesn’t need more sex crazed vampires in their life?

Cathy Kelly – Just Between Us

I read two novels from Kelly as a teenager on a loop, so I would love to read something by this Irish author again.

Two old school Afrikaans books

I love old school Afrikaans romance – everything was so chaste

Total haul = R126 (If you are South-African you will grasp just how cheap that is)

Oh, and that is not to mention Marian Keyes that I ordered on line last week. *hides*

I’m actually now in the market for a bookshelf – I have one already, but it has long been overflowing, and with the latest haul we are now in a terrible situation. I’m on the lookout for a shelf, but FML those things are expensive. Goodness!

PS: Here are some pics of our shoes on the walk (#evidence) and of the delicious coffee drinks we had afterwards. It was so good!

img-20160903-wa0001dsc_0063

2 thoughts on “Book Haul September: #CharityShopDisaster

  1. I love this post, and I love the books and the movie and the everything from mah bestie, you rock! Ooooooh, I hope you enjoy the Millennium books – they are freaking fantastic!

  2. Pingback: Book review: I am Number Four (Pittacus Lore) – Life of this city girl

Leave a Reply

