Movie Review: Just Friends (2005)

jf2

Plot: While visiting his hometown during Christmas, a man comes face-to-face with his old high school crush whom he was best friends with — a woman whose rejection of him turned him into a ferocious womanizer.

Rating: 5/10

It’s rarely that I really don’t enjoy a movie and just wish for it to end. Mostly that only happens when Adam Sandler is involved. I’m most often on board in finding something to like about a film.  I decided to watch Just Friends because I find Ryan Reynolds the height of adorable and he was so damn cute when he just started out. This silly comedy however didn’t satisfy me on any level. Ryan Reynolds was annoying as fat Chris Brander and thin Chris Brander. He was without a personality or substance, and his thicker years didn’t bestow wisdom on him. Amy Smart as Jamie Palamino was a bit lame (okay, a lot), and I couldn’t understand why Chris was carrying a torch for her. Anna Faris as Samantha James was created to be the comedic relief, but there was no comedy nor any relief in this film. I found it stupid, insincere and not funny. I think I’m probably missing the point of the film, it’s probably one of those “So bad it’s good” things, but I’ve seen a couple of those and this wasn’t on that level. Oh well, you can’t win at everything, can you, Deadpool?

Have you seen this? What did you think?

jf3jf1

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Just Friends (2005)

  1. This is one of those guilty pleasure movies for me sadly! I watched it a lot, and I mean, a lot, a few years ago and I’m starting to think I’ve just conditioned my brain into thinking it’s a great movie, ha! What do you think of The Proposal? That’s my favourite of Ryan Reynolds’ earlier movies 🙂
    – Allie

  2. I completely understand what you mean – I have a ton of those movies that I actually can’t even mention in public that I like 🙂 I love young Ryan Reynolds! I am a big fan of The Proposal, saw it the other day again and enjoyed it so much!

Leave a Reply

