September 2016: Watched, Read, Loved

september

While I think we should start a drinking game out in public and everyone needs to drink when someone says “CAN YOU BELIEVE HOW FAST THE YEAR WENT” or something similar, I still want to ask you WHERE DID THE YEAR GO? *sips*. It has been so fast. For better or worse I am nearly in my new position for a year now. Life has changed significantly. The last two years has forced me to grow more than I can ever begin to tell you. It’s been hard and it has been enlightening.

Apologies for being incognito last week. I am currently in a war with data in this country, and I refuse to buy more data before my bundle kicks in. South-African data companies are complete sharks. Here is an infographic just how our data cost compares to the rest of the globe: I am so behind the #DataMustFall movement:

Movies watched at home:

ES1

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (blindspot #7)

I’m well aware that I sound quite old when I say these things, but it has been ages since a movie was unique, beautiful and thought provoking. ESPM managed to be all three of those things. It is impossible to watch that film and just fall a teensy bit in-love with Jim Carrey’s awkward little character. It was so beautiful!

 alien-movie-poster

Blindspot: Alien (blindspot #8)

My blindspots this year have been awfully meh actually. I chose really good movies but I haven’t really seen any on this list that was made for me. I was so damn happy to get two so on top of each other that I loved. Alien is incredible – from its’ old school action and thriller-style to the strong female heroine, I loved everything about this movie.

ss_cinema_poster_v1

Pad na Jou Hart

I got in my Afrikaans fix when I watched this film, and gosh was it worth it. It is actually a good film, and that isn’t always the case with Afrikaans/South-African films. I’m really happy and proud with what they here and can’t wait to get this up and running!

 bourne-identity

The Bourne Identity

Hmm, I love me some young Matt Damon. My bestie and I are planning a short run soon with the Bourne series – it is going to be so great! This is some of Damon’s best work and a pretty great franchise.

 maze-runner

The Maze Runner

I’m past the point where everything dystopian matters and that is probably why I didn’t really care for this. Don’t get me wrong – it isn’t bad, but ugh, dystopia schmystopia.

 ppz

Pride and Prejudice vs. Zombies

IS THIS MY FAVORITE FILM OF 2016? I have no idea how someone thought adding Zombies to Pride and Prejudice but it works sooooo well. I loved the cast, I loved the Britishness, I loved everything. Review up really soon too!

bourne-supremacy

The Bourne Supremacy

Sequelities did not strike! I thought this was better than Identity, and I really enjoyed Identity.

In the movies:

bridget_joness_baby_poster

Bridget Jones’ baby

I had the intense desire to get out of the house and away from my study material to regain sanity and clarity about life. Cue the only available thing in cinema – Bridget Jones’ Baby. It was a risk that paid off, because this might be my second favorite film of 2016 right now. It was Bridget, she’s back, and I loved that they left Renee Zellwegers’ face untouched and had her looked as the character, and the actress, is supposed to look: OLDER.

Series: Game of Thrones Season 6

I finally got around to watching this, and it is great. I’m doing per episode reviews, so soon you’ll see weekly reviews again of the show just when you thought it was over! #muhaha

It’s really good, they cut down on their mutilation of the female species dramatically, and the storyline remained quite strong.

Read:

let-it-snow

Let it Snow: John Green/Maureen Johnson/ Lauren Myracle


The review went up here – read please! It is really quite good. Frothy, Christmassy and light, it was fast and sweet to read.

marian

Marian Keyes – The Woman Who Stole My life

Loving this right now, and with this eccentric but well-loved author I’m never quite sure what I’m getting into. Having tons of fun though when I get to read, which isn’t often, but the book is really awesome.

Well, there we go. I’ve squished in a lot of things this month, and hope to be up and running when I emerge victorious from #DataWars

7 thoughts on “September 2016: Watched, Read, Loved

  1. ALIEN!!!!! Oh man, I’m so glad you finally saw this classic. I’m so obsessed with the first two Alien films. They’re going to my desert island with me! : )

  2. “Sequelities did not strike!” – Supremacy is my favourite of the trilogy, I reckon.

    That dude on the car in Pad Na Jou Hart looks like Adriaan xD LOLOLOLOL!

    Glad you have been enjoying your last few blind spots at least!

Leave a Reply

