Weekend, Book Challenge and raging at the weather

monday madness

Happy, erm, Monday

So, I was spectacularly late this morning for work. It is raining like it is England, and I am not impressed. I hate driving in the rain. Johannesburgers are horrific drivers at best but it seems that in the rain they think it is Need for Speed Joburg. Meh.

Speaking of driving, I finally have my own car! It feels unbelievable that I can do whatever I want. I have been unhappy with my car-lessness for years, so I am so incredibly happy about it.

Friday I visited my sister (in my own car). Saturday said sister brought me car seats as a belated birthday gift and that night I drove myself to a braai at friends.

Sunday was my dad’s birthday. Happy 58th birthday Daddy! We celebrated at my sister’s house with brunch – our picnic plans were ruined by the rain once again.

I finished Suits Season three, which was absolutely good. I also caught up with Pretty Little Liars Season four. Without giving away too much to those who still needs to watch, the latest A development is deliciously freaky. I also appreciate that the show is getting real development – season three was all about stalling.

At the braai I went to we suddenly had the inexplicable urge to know our Chinese Zodiac signs. Apparently I am a Horse. Which is a lot better than being a Rat, I might mention. But it is supposed to mean I am more cunning than intelligent. Watch out folks.

Book Challenge progress and countdown

I had a good reading stint this weekend. I read and finished The Fault in Our Stars (cry cry cry). I also read The Notebook – one of Nicholas Sparks’ better attempts, and finished the Rescue, also by Sparks, which wasn’t the best of attempts by him. I thought to finish Shopaholic Abroad (Sophie Kinsella), but not even for finishing a book challenge will I read such atrocious nonsense.

I am officially in the last month of my Book Challenge countdown. I am already at 86 books, which means fourteen books left. I am so happy I decided to track how many books I can read in twelve months. I have certainly thought it must be a fair number, because I am always reading – even if I am in a slump I will be reading. It is part of who I am. I could never change that.

I have to say the only drawback of doing this was that I couldn’t reread my favorite books – or I could but I couldn’t add it to the list. If I remember correctly I only reread Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and Indigo Spell (Richelle Mead). At the beginning of March I will probably start going through my favorite books.

New authors

One of the perks of not rereading books was definitely exploring new authors. Some I won’t be persuing again (Katie Fford, Patricia Cornwell) but some others I definitely will. I really enjoyed Veronica Roth (DIVERGENT WAS AWESOME), Francis Scott Fitzgerald (the Great Gatsby), and Bryan Green (The Fault in Our Stars).

Reading List:

Karin Slaughter – Zoe’s been telling me to read these books for ages, and I am going to try them. There are 7 in the series and I will probably start tonight on them.

The Quinn Legacy by Nora Roberts – 4 books.

7+4 = 11 + 86 = 97. If you know of any three books worth reading please mention them to me!

Really want to read the sequel to Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet, which was amazing, but it doesn’t seem like a good idea to tackle a 700 page strong novel with four weeks left in the challenge!

What did you do this weekend?

 

One thought on “Weekend, Book Challenge and raging at the weather

  1. It is AWFUL to drive out there sheesh! Glad you are ok!

    😀 Congratulations again on le car!

    Yes, Slaughter… you must do it… so good! Hmmmm… I have a few but you are already going to be reading Slaughter… just shout if I must keep letting you know!

    Hmmmmm… that might be insane…

Leave a comment