Blindspot 2016: Warrior (2011)

Warrior poster

Plot: The youngest son of an alcoholic former boxer returns home, where he’s trained by his father for competition in a mixed martial arts tournament – a path that puts the fighter on a collision course with his estranged, older brother.

Rating: 8/10

Warrior made it onto my Blindspot list because I’ve heard more than once that it is a solid film and it also cast one of my favorite actors, the incredibly excellent and talented Tom Hardy.

Warrior is never slow and it is never friendly. It is not bothering with being feel good, it is bothered with telling you a story. The story is harsh and gritty and there is heartache, disappointment and pain in an unrelenting pace. There is a bit of war trauma, it is part underdog story, it is about how destructive alcoholism can be, a tale of athleticism and respect and of having your own agenda and motives that other people can comprehend. In one short sentence, thus: there is so much emotion in here.

Warrior1

I LOVED it. I tend to lean more to lighthearted things in life – life can be so dark and difficult that I really think that entertainment doesn’t always need to be.  But to all rules there are exceptions and I attached to this like Donald Trump attaches to his toupees – passionately. As mentioned, Tom Hardy is an actor that hopefully everyone loves, and I think he is so solid. He impressed me again, especially for completely dropping his English accent and having an American one, the harshness of his character and the chilling ability Hardy has to make you run away and search for safety. Joel Edgerton was the stunning surprise in Warrior – I rooted for this character way more than I rooted for his brother. He had this sad desperation to him that was impossible not to sympathize with.

Warrior 2

The way Warrior progresses also has so much merit. There are very little the audience isn’t privy to throughout Warrior, it is more a scenario about when the audience in the film themselves will learn certain things.

Frank-Grillo-in-Warrior

I also really enjoyed Frank Grillo, who, for some astounding reason, is fifty. I cannot understand the powers of Hollywood when it comes to age, I really can’t. The man does not look a day over thirty five! Anyway, leaving his longevity behind, I also enjoyed the seriousness of his character too. He came across as a decent, straightforward man who knew his business and would tell you his honest opinion, nothing less.

The last hour of Warrior focuses exclusively on what the entire film builds up to – Sparta, the massive MMA event. I first thought that it was way too much time allocated, but I changed my mind – that last hour is screaming, intense, hair gripping drama that made the entire film come together.

Warrior is obviously a new favorite of mine. Even if I never watch it again, I will always remember the sheer drama and beauty of the production. It is a sports flick however, and if you really dislike them you should probably steer clear. BUT, it is intensely good and powerful, and I really hope many people can recognize that – I was disgusted to learn that this film didn’t even earn its’ budget in cinema, a testimony to the bad taste of movie goers in my opinion.

Have you seen Warrior? Did you enjoy it?

21 thoughts on “Blindspot 2016: Warrior (2011)

  1. Toupees. Aha! Absolutely loved this movie, I rooted for the underdog too. See the difference is most fight movies focus on the fights and the story is an after thought while Warrior is a great dramatic movie that just so happen to take place in MMA. The fights are pretty good too though aha

    • Very true! There is a real story going on in Warrior. I’m not really interested in fight scenes, so the story is what made this work for me

  2. P.S sooo true about Frank Grillo not looking his age! I need me some Hollywood pills lol.

    It’s like Paul Rudd, I swear he actually looks EXACTLY the same as when he was in Clueless!!! 20 years ago….!

  3. Pingback: March to May: Watched, Read, Loved – Life of this city girl

  4. Pingback: Blindspot 2016: final rankings – Life of this city girl

Leave a Reply

