Weekend and stuff (And the MOST AMAZING SHOE FIND EVER)

Hello

This weekend was pretty darn amazing. I didn’t do anything spectacular, but I really enjoyed it.

Friday at work we participated in Reach for your slipper Day. It is organized by the Reach For A Dream Foundation. Paying 10 bucks enabled us to wear our slippers for the day (and who doesn’t like that?)

reach for your slippers

Their campaign:

‘Over the past 25 years the Reach For A Dream foundation has been fulfilling the dreams of children fighting life-threatening illnesses. The work of Reach For A Dream enables children to experience a fun aspect of life, which they often don’t get to participate in because of their illness. It also inspires hope and courage and helps them believe that tomorrow is worth fighting for. The Reach for Your Slippers campaign is the latest initiative to help make dreams come true. All you need to do is buy a R10 sticker and wear your slippers to work, school, the shops – or wherever you want – to show your support for Reach For A Dream. If you are unable to wear your slippers, then wear your sticker with pride. By doing this, you are helping to fulfill dreams for children in hospitals and homes across South Africa. Join the rest of South Africa by wearing your slippers on Friday, 2 August 2013.’

Their Website: http://www.reachforadream.org.za/

Friday night we went to our local Ster-Kinekor cinema to go see Pacific Rim. I mainly wanted to go watch the movie because I wanted to see Charlie Hunham in something else other than Sons Of Anarchy (I am getting to that) but I really didn’t expect to enjoy it so much. It is a fantastic movie. It was edge-of-your-seat stuff. Really, go watch it.

On Saturday I went to get my study material from Unisa so that I can start studying again – and I need to really start now, as I need to submit two assignments on the 19th. I also went to Vodacom, to sort out my data plan. I thought I would have to wait for ages – it was very busy. I was so pleasantly surprised by the staff as well as the new revamped shop. I waited about 20 minutes (I don’t think that is an unreasonable amount of time to wait in a busy shop) and then received help from a very efficient consultant.  I wish I had thought of taking her name, so that I could properly send thanks through the correct channels. Anyway, good job Vodacom Southgate.

I also purchased cover for my tablet. I think it is about time, as I am notoriously known for dropping the poor thing. It is pink (jay me) and has really nice detail. Am very happy.

Sunday I became victorious in my hunt for the perfect beige pump low heeled shoe (incredibly specific, I know) My search came to an end at Woolworths, and I thank them kindly for stocking the shoe I have been searching for FOREVER)

Court Shoe

*Won the shoe search

I started watching Sons of Anarchy this weekend. It is really good, but much more violent than I usually watch. I am impressed with the storyline. I am enjoying it right now, but will have to wait and see if it is enough to take me through all the seasons.

On the book front, I am currently reading Nora Roberts’ River’s End. It is one of my favorite books.

In my first attempt to give up bad habits, I gave up coffee. Well, I am limiting it to one cup a day. I am already feeling better. I am planning to say goodbye to sugar on Thursday, so please keep me in your thoughts. Last week I managed to exercise three times – not good or bad. This week I want to increase the amount to at least four times, as exercising is my main way to losing weight right now.

What did you do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

