Blindspot 2015: The Prestige (2006)

The-Prestige-2006

Plot: Two stage magicians engage in competitive one-upmanship in an attempt to create the ultimate stage illusion.

Rating: 9/10

I’ll start off saying that I’m not one of the Nolanites who obsessively watch for new releases and get violent in his defense. That does not stop me from recognizing the true genius of the man, but I don’t faint with excitement is all I’m saying. But he directed two of the Blindspots I’ve most enjoyed this year, so obviously this guy is on to something.

I chose amazing Blindspots for 2015. Both the Godfather One and Two, Fury, Interstellar, Casablanca and now the Prestige were all well worth the time I devoted to them. I have Pulp Fiction and A Good Year left and I think we can safely say that Pulp Fiction is the one that might upset the rankings here.

THE PRESTIGE, Hugh Jackman, Scarlett Johansson, 2006, (c) Newmarket/courtesy Everett Collection
THE PRESTIGE, Hugh Jackman, Scarlett Johansson, 2006, (c) Newmarket/courtesy Everett Collection

The Prestige is a phenomenal movie. It is entertaining, well-paced, and non-linear in its storytelling (I’ve come to realize that ol’ Nolan likes doing this). Michael Caine, Hugh Jackman, Christian Bale, Scarlett Johannson, Andy Serkis and David Bowie are the main cast and they entertain non-stop. I’ve always thought Christian Bale is a fantastic actor, but I haven’t really seen him as jaw dropping good. I’m told that this is more his natural accent than any other, but just realizing how excellently he does accents and how his whole demeanor changes when he slips into a role is terribly impressive. Without giving plot reveals on here, because if you haven’t seen it you really should, I called one of the big ones pretty early on. All you have to do is pay attention to Tesla’s experience (an already fascinating character and his incorporation into this was a great idea). The last one, just before the end of the movie? I had my suspicions but wasn’t totally correct there – it was very well done. The movie has a fantastic end – you are kept wondering and on the edge of your seat until the very end, and then it still manage to surprise.

The Prestige is well worth the watch. So happy I chose this!

11 thoughts on “Blindspot 2015: The Prestige (2006)

  1. I absolutely LOVED this movie! I watched it for the first time a few months ago. The only reason I watched it was because of Hugh Jackman. He was incredible in his role… along with Scarlett, Michael and Christian. I’ll probably end up watching it again some time 🙂

  2. Great great review. Gosh, i really must go back and watch The Prestige again. I have only seen it once, and like with most of his movies you pretty much need to give it a go or two to fully appreciate and/or understand. This was one I didnt understand much after but I really need to. I forgot how many big names are in this one too, which is always a plus 🙂

  3. Yay! Glad you got to this one, Natasha! One of my very favorites of the last decade – I think it’s fantastic. And I’m not a crazy Nolan fan (he’s a bit overrated). But THIS film is great – my favorite of his by far. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Blindsided by THE EARRINGS OF MADAME DE… | The Matinee | Cinematic Passion & Perspective

  5. Pingback: Blindspot 2015: Final Feedback | Life of this city girl

  6. I watched this movie last night for the first time and the ending was actually shocking to me! I want to watch it again to see if I can see it coming. Great review! 🙂

Leave a comment